Our News Details

Sky Announce How F1 Coverage Will be Split in 2015

Racing on Sky Sports

After a thrilling 2014 season which saw British driver Lewis Hamilton take home the drivers championship trophy, Sky have announced that Lewis will officially begin his title defence exclusively live on Sky Sports F1 at the Australian Grand Prix. In previous years all the Gran Prix' were broadcast on both the BBC and Sky Sports, giving those who don't own Sky Sports the chance to watch some of the thrilling competition. This year, however, Sky have gained exclusive broadcasting rights for ten of the twenty races, ensuring those with an F1 addiction have little choice other than to join the Sky Sports family.

The first race in Australia, broadcast exclusively on Sky, will be the beginning of Hamilton's campaign to retain the world championship and match Jackie Stewart's British record number of Formula 1 titles. Getting off to the right start will be crucial for the 30 year old driver, who faces increased competition from all corners, including new driver line-ups at McLaren, Red Bull, Toro Rosso, Ferrari and Sauber and three new drivers entering the competition. One of those new drivers is Max Verstappen, who becomes the youngest F1 driver ever at 17 years of age - almost half the age of the current champion.

Commentary this year on Sky Sports will once again come from Martin Brundle and David Croft alongside expert analysis from Damon Hill, Bruno senna, Johnny Herbert and Anthony Davidson. The return of these commentators was the result of a number of requests via the Sky number UK for their return. At the front of the programme will be Simon Lazenby and Natalie Pinkham with Ted Kravitz. Aside from the superb live coverage offered by Sky Sports F1, there'll also be pre and post race analysis, special programming features, documentaries, archive footage and familiar favourites like The F1 Show. In addition, Sky are supporting their TV broadcasts with a host of digital offerings including multi-cam, round the clock news, Race Control and much much more.

On the forthcoming season, Martin Turner, exec F1 producer for Sky Sports had this to say: "All eyes are on world champion Lewis Hamilton and Sky Sports F1® will be the only place to follow every race of his title defence. There are so many exciting story lines next season and we’ll cover every twist and turn from Australia to Abu Dhabi.”

Here is the fixture list for the forthcoming racing season. 'Exclusively live' indicated a race which will only feature on Sky Sports, though the BBC F1 team will get race highlights later in the evening.

  1. 15-Mar          AUSTRALIA           Exclusively live
  2. 29-Mar         MALAYSIA             Live
  3. 12-Apr           CHINA                     Exclusively live
  4. 19-Apr           BAHRAIN               Live
  5. 10-May          SPAIN                     Exclusively live
  6. 24-May         MONACO              Exclusively live
  7. 7-Jun             CANADA                Live
  8. 21-Jun           AUSTRIA                Exclusively live
  9. 5-Jul              GREAT BRITAIN   Live
  10. 19-Jul            GERMANY             Exclusively live
  11. 26-Jul           HUNGARY             Live
  12. 23-Aug         BELGIUM               Live
  13.  6-Sep           ITALY                      Exclusively live
  14. 20-Sept       SINGAPORE         Exclusively live
  15. 27-Sept       JAPAN                    Live
  16. 11-Oct           RUSSIA                  Live
  17. 25-Oct         USA                         Exclusively live
  18. 1-Nov           MEXICO                  Exclusively live
  19. 15-Nov        BRAZIL                    Live
  20. 29-Nov       ABU DHABI           Live

Comments (0 )

Leave a Comment

captcha code
captcha refresh


Sky Telephone Number is operated by Search Me Ltd, a company who provide affordable alternate numbers for customers to contact their service providers. Calls cost 7p per minute plus your phone companies access charge. We are not affiliated with this or any company listed on this website. Callers must be over the age of 18.